SD Educators Ask Feds to Keep Funding Promise for Special Ed

Sioux Falls, SD – South Dakota educators are asking Congress to fully fund the Individuals with Disabilities in Education Act (IDEA). Passed in 1975, the federal government promised to pay 40 percent of the costs, but currently pays only 14.9 percent, putting a huge burden on states, including South Dakota, to find the money to remain in compliance with the law. Comments from Mary McCorkle, president, South Dakota Education Association (SDEA).

2019 SDEA/NEA Election

SDEA/NEA Candidate Statements for the upcoming 2019 election.

New books and resources

New Books and Resources for the Children & Families You Serve!

Diede Receives 2019 SDEA Teacher of Excellence Award

Pierre – The South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) has named Harrisburg South Middle School Math Teacher, Carla Diede, the 2019 SDEA Teacher of Excellence.

Aberdeen Education Association’s Kerry Konda Selected as 2019 NEA Foundation Global Learning Fellow

The NEA Foundation Global Learning Fellowship increases access to global training and experiences by providing global education professional development opportunities for K-12 public school educators.

Rapid City teachers begin their first micro-credential program

For the first time, Rapid City teachers can renew their credentials for free, at their own pace, and online with micro-credentials. Every five years teachers have to recertify. Teachers have two options: pay hundreds of dollars to earn 6 credits at a university or take the free classes local schools offer, but at times that conflict with teacher's schedules. Rapid City now has a third option for free called micro-credentials. 14 teachers are trying the pilot program where they will register online to do classes at their pace and on their time.

Boomsma selected as 2019 South Dakota Teacher of the Year

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Erica Boomsma, a fourth grade teacher at the Washington 4-5 Center in the Huron School District, has been named the 2019 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made Thursday night at a banquet at the Ramkota Hotel and Convention Center in Sioux Falls.

Spearfish Educator Receives Prestigious California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence

Jessica Zwaschka recognized by California Casualty and the NEA Foundation

Brookings science teacher goes to Space Camp

A high school teacher in Brookings got the experience of a lifetime spending a week at Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama.

SDEA/NEA Election Results

The SDEA/NEA Elections Committee met on April 27, 2018, to count and certify the results of the election. Pursuant to SDEA Board of Directors motion at its January 19–20, 2018, meeting, no ballots were sent regarding the SDEA Board of Director positions as these races were completely unopposed.