Policy Category ELECTION RULES

Policy Title NEA DELEGATES

Fifteen delegates shall be elected each year to the NEA Representative Assembly. Delegates shall be elected as follows:

The SDEA/NEA vice president and treasurer for the three years following election to the office (SDEA/NEA Bylaws Article VIII – Sections 3 & 4)

Seven unit delegates elected by the voting members of each unit (SDEA/NEA Bylaws Article IX):

Western Unit – Two Delegates
Plains Unit – One Delegate
EGL (Educators Guiding Learners) Unit – One Delegate
Eastern Prairie Unit – Two Delegates
SEE (South East Educators) Unit – One Delegate

One minority delegate and five "at large" delegates elected by all active, active-ESP, and retired members of the Association (SDEA/NEA Bylaws Article IX).

In the event there is no elected minority delegate and/or no elected delegate to the NEA RA from one or more units, additional elected at large delegates shall be used to fill the state allotment of delegates.

Mary J. McCorkle President of the Board

Adopted June 2, 2004
Reviewed October 5, 2007
Amended January 31, 2015
Amended June 8, 2015

Amended September 24-25, 2016