South Dakota bill seeks to ban teacher unions

PIERRE, S.D. (KELO) — “Everybody should have the right to either join or form a union — to argue and be able to engage in collective bargaining — it is recognized internationally as a basic human right.”

SDEA’s Response to Bill Banning Collective Bargaining and Due Process for Educators

HB 1216 will not solve any of the pressing issues facing our schools; it will only bring division and demoralize those who work in our schools and ultimately hurt students.

SDEA Responds to Governor Noem’s State of the State Address

Pierre – The following statement can be attributed to South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) President Loren Paul in response to Governor Noem’s State of the State Address

Following Noem Speech, SD Educators Press for Funding Increase

PIERRE, S.D. - South Dakota's teachers' union says while there are still a lot of unknowns, it's hopeful the governor's new budget proposal leads to pay increases for teachers and support staff.

SDEA Responds to Governor Noem’s 2021 Budget Address

Pierre – Today, during her budget address, Governor Kristi Noem proposed a six percent increase to state aid for public education. The following statement can be attributed to South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) President Loren Paul: “These are unprecedented times for South Dakota’s students, educators and schools. Too many open positions have led to schools not being able to offer students the full services they deserve and have placed an unsustainable workload on educators. Now, more than ever, state leaders must deliver the resources schools need to attract and retain quality and caring educators. “We truly appreciate Governor Noem’s proposed six-percent increase to state aid for public education. This is just the beginning of our work to ensure that state leaders understand the needs of students and educators and why such a significant increase is so important. We look forward to working with Governor Noem and state lawmakers to deliver the dollars our schools, educators and students deserve.”

Stephanie Ballard named 2022 Teacher of the Year

FORT PIERRE, S.D. – Stephanie Ballard, a special education teacher at George S. Mickelson Middle School in Brookings, has been named the 2022 South Dakota Teacher of the Year.

As South Dakota Celebrates Teacher Appreciation Week, Teacher Pay Slips in Rank

Pierre - It is Teacher Appreciation Week, and the South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) is encouraging everyone to take a moment to thank South Dakota’s educators and ask state leaders to keep the commitment to ensure teachers’ salaries remain competitive in the region. According to the National Education Association’s (NEA) latest issue of the 2021 Rankings and Estimates, South Dakota has fallen back to 50th in the nation. SDEA says now is time to act so teacher pay does not fall back to the bottom.

2022 SDEA/NEA Election Results

The SDEA/NEA Elections Committee met on April 29, 2022, to count and certify the results of the election.

South Dakota Education Association Endorses Medicaid Expansion Ballot Measure; Joins South Dakota Decides Healthcare Coalition

Pierre – The South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) is joining a diverse coalition of healthcare providers, farmers, businesses, and other civic organizations to expand healthcare options for South Dakota’s working families. The SDEA Board of Directors voted to support South Dakota Decides Healthcare to expand Medicaid coverage for over 40,000 people in the state. SDEA President Loren Paul says a successful campaign will mean healthier families for South Dakota’s students.

SDEA Election Update

This is an update from what was in the recent Advocate.  There will not be an SDEA election this year.  All the SDEA Board of Directors and NEA RA delegate races are now uncontested. The SDEA Board of Directors voted at its January 2021 meeting to automatically declare the candidates of these uncontested races winners. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact SDEA President Loren Paul,, Elections Committee Chair, Stephanie Hageman,, or Elections Committee Liaison Anne Plooster,