SDEA Awards Gordon Horgen Memorial Scholarships to Two High School Seniors


Pierre – The South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) has awarded two future teachers the Gordon Horgen Memorial scholarship. The scholarship is granted to Native American high school seniors who are planning to enter the teaching profession. The 2020 winners include:

    Brevan Hooks – Wolsey Wessington High School
    Emma Saucerman – Rapid City Central High School

SDEA President Mary McCorkle says the recipients are excellent candidates to join the teaching profession. “It is so important that our schools have more minority teachers leading our classrooms, so we are pleased to be awarding this scholarship to these two individuals. They are the best and brightest of South Dakota and it is exciting that they are choosing the teaching profession as their career path,” said McCorkle. “The future of education is bright when high school students like Brevan and Emma decide to use their talents to teach the next generation. We look forward to seeing them in our classrooms in the years to come.”