Zoller Receives SDEA/NEA’s Educational Support Professional Award


For Immediate Release
May 8, 2019

Spearfish’s Jenifer Zoller
Receives SDEA/NEA’s Educational Support Professional Award

PIERRE – The South Dakota Education Association (SDEA) named Jenifer Zoller, a paraprofessional at Spearfish Middle School, the 2019 Educational Support Professional of the Year. Zoller received the award at the annual SDEA/NEA Representative Assembly in Pierre. 

“Jenifer’s commitment to the students she works with is evident in the effort she puts forth to make her Alternative Learning and Attendance Center room a positive environment for the students she serves,” said SDEA President Mary McCorkle. “She takes what she learns and puts it into practice for the benefit of her students. Jenifer exemplifies what it means to be a dedicated educator.  She is most deserving of this award.”

Zoller was nominated by the Spearfish Education Association’s Co-President Teri Bauerly. “As an Education Support Professional, Jen has the ability to work with many students and staff in our building.  Jen takes this opportunity to make sure that all those she encounters feel valued and cared for.  During passing periods Jen stands in the hallway smiling and high fiving all who pass,” wrote Bauerly. “No matter the reason a student is visiting the ALAC room, Jen builds a relationship with that student.” 

“I believe that Jenifer Zoller is incredibly deserving of this award.  Jen is an advocate for all students, compassionate and kind to everyone and a life-long learner,” continued Bauerly.  “I am so grateful to call her a colleague and friend.”

SDEA/NEA’s ESP Award recognizes the contributions of Education Support Professionals (ESPs) to their schools, communities, and their professions. The award is presented to a member of SDEA/NEA who demonstrates outstanding accomplishments and who reflects the contributions of ESP to public education.

SDEA is South Dakota’s largest education professionals’ organization, representing more than 6,000 elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, retired educators and students preparing to become teachers.

– END –